In the Beginning

…we don’t always know what to say. We write words, forming chains and chains of sentences, and then we delete them because our brains chatter that it’s not quite right or we’re not sure how we want to present ourselves on that first, initial impression.

Let me start with saying that I am new to blogging. At least on this website. I’d still like to find how to change the font color of my page, so, there’s that. I also want to say I’ll likely write in run-on sentences, fragments, and from time to time depending on my mood just include some gibberish of words that aren’t words, like awesomeness and ploot and bababing! Because it’s who I am, and this will be a personal blog spot for me. Also, nothing beats being your true, authentic self.

I’ll be further honest with you, reader. I’m at the peak of my procrastination right now. I was once applying to and finding summer jobs (preferably in the mental health field despite that I’m still an undergraduate student) this morning, which switched to trying to find paid blogging/writing positions to me wandering off and creating this page. Likely, I should have spent more time thinking about making a blog, but, well, we can’t always get what we want? (I will not be shy to making emoticons and funny faces here, either XD)

 

So this may not be going where I’d like it to go. And, in the grand scheme of things, that’s okay.

My name is Raquel and I’m a junior year Psychology major at UMass Boston. I have a deviantART account which is primarily all the journaling/blogging experience that I have, where I post artwork such as painting, drawing, watercoloring (this is new!), photography, creative writing, bracelets annnnnd let me think…scrapbooking and oh yes, this new trade I call Ink on Skin or IOS. It’s harder than you’d think to keep track of all of these art mediums.

Back in December 2015, I believe, I began a group on DA called Recovery to Wellness. Hence, this name right here. I am hoping to be more active on DA over the summer so that I can put more work into building up the group and getting it further recognized on the website.

With this blog, I want to continue sharing my mental health experiences and my story. After all, my voice (as well as yours) is worth sharing. We will embark together on sharing our stories (if you are so comfortable to do so, no pressure!!), recovering, and returning to mental and physical wellness. =] What a beautiful dream and goal that is!

 

So, if you’ve been able to understand my garbled speech for this long, I do encourage you to take part in this journey with me. Having another safe space for creating positivity holds a warming and sparkling quality to my eyes.

I hope you all are well. And if not, don’t be afraid to punch whatever affliction is dragging you down in the face and above all, stay safe.

 

Until next time ❤

 

4 thoughts on “In the Beginning

  1. You’re amazing. And as I tell people, I’m in love with you in a completely weird (weird is okay in my book. I welcome weirdness, it’s a essential) and platonic way. I love the humor but also the honesty of your writing. I’m trying to word this but I don’t know how to. But that’s okay I don’t know how to do a lot of things and I confuse myself a lot. I also have the worst grammar (don’t think that’s the correct way of saying that) y’all ever see. But yea, me I’m a socially awkward, beautiful, magical, sparkly unicorn. What was I saying? Oh yes, I love your writing. So yea, I’m gonna go before I confuse you or myself even more. Bye bye.
    That’s my rant!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh also I forgot to tell you, at first I could come off as a little creepy. Well as lot creepy but don’t worry I couldn’t hurt a fly. Well actually I could because they’re so small but they’re so fast they might fly away. Haha, anyway the question is would I hurt them? Yes I probably would because those little buggurs – don’t think that’s a word – are EVIL! EVIL I TELL YOU! But I couldn’t hurt anything else. I mean unless they’re mean or making fun of my friends. I could and probably would hurt them. I HATE BULLYING!! But I LOVE FOOD. I love taking long romantic walks, to my refrigerator. Anyway what was I saying? Oh yes, I’m gonna come off as creepy at first, or really all the time but don’t worry, y’all get used to it. And if you don’t then, I don’t know what to do. What else, oh yes I was saying, I couldn’t hurt a thing. Which I mean I probably could l, maybe. If I wasn’t so lazy and actually got out of bed. So I’m really confused how we got to this conversation. Well not really ‘we’ since I’m the only one talking. Well not really talking but typing. But that’s nothing new, I confuse myself all the time. Well I’m gonna go before you get creeped out even more ( which it’s probably to late for that). Also could you do me a favor, if understand anything I just said -well not really said but.. Okay let’s not get into that – do you mind writing me back and explaining it to me. Because I don’t have a clue.
      Anyway bye bye.
      That’s my rant. Now I’m gonna go eat Nutella. Is it just me, (probably is) or does everyone calm down by eating Nutella.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have a love for fruit flies, I took a genetics course where in one lab experiment we had to count like a thousand fruit flies (or was it 500? I don’t even know) but learning about them and looking at them “iced” under the microscope was awesome. So, I still love ’em until this very day. 🙂

        I’m not creeped out in the slightest, yippee! ^^
        Ahaha, you basically when on tangents of how you couldn’t hurt a fly (although, maybe yes because they are evil, and you could hurt something but likely would not) and that you may come off as creepy and something about you talking or typing and yeah. Something like that 😉

        I don’t actually like Nutella very much *insert a le-gasp here* But I think I’ll go get myself some iced water, yum! 🙂

        Like

    • That is the right way to say grammar! Hooray! 🙂 It’s like calendar, it’s odd. ^^;

      Unicorns are the bestest, so having a new friend who identifies as such a magical, mystical creature is wonderfully exciting 🙂

      Thank you so much, too, by the way!! I’m glad you enjoy my writing, it makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

