Teachable Moment #3 | Art Therapy Series

*snaps fingers* Welcome back, again!! We are currently in our third spot of this Art Therapy Series about teachable moments! πŸ˜€ Hooray!!

Today’s assignment is from March 6 2015.

The assignment was to create your Recovery ship, include who or what helps you within it (the Tools in your Toolbox), I believe to name something about the journey of Recovery that’s important to you (you’ll see what I mean in orange shortly), name your ship and write a little blurb around it. And you could stylize the ship and surrounding area however you wanted to, of course!

So, here is what I did: (It’s an aerial view of the boat–by the way, I love ocean metaphors with Recovery, if you hadn’t realized that by the ‘voyage’ daily prompt XD)

 

IMG_00002573

Okay, here it is, above!! So there’s some clouds and waves in the background as you can see. The name of my ship is:

Serenity.

And I chose:

Acceptance

as my Recovery word…or something, I don’t really remember, it’s just there though! XD

I like the idea of the ship, still, being called Serenity, it’s like a ship name and all and I think that Acceptance is very important when it comes to healing and working through Recovery and being able to accept what has gone and happened and move forward to what can be new and fulfilling in life. πŸ™‚

Within my Toolbox is this (at the time):

The blue person represents my current therapist til this day, the red person represented the graduate student/Counseling Center of my university. The red plus sign at the top represents hospitalizations and the people there that I came to meet.

Next, there is me, the brown dot, surrounding my one of my friends, Melissa in green, and someone else I can’t quite remember. Then there’s all the other heads of everyone else. πŸ™‚ Well, every one of my other friends, online or not.

Next the black and yellow people are my parents. And then there’s another group of friends or something, I think.

At the very bottom, there are my coping strategies:

a telephone for calling for help, “breathe”, music, bracelets, photos, drawing, writing and “imagery” (that I’ve used as a grounding technique in the past, which is quite effective and creative for me, we’ll go over that one day, peeps.)

This reminds me a little of this drawing I have yet to finish, in my first sketchbook, that uses the concept of ‘The Coping Tree’:

IMG_8947 Upd

An unfinished WIP. The Coping Tree has different coping strategies hanging from ribbons on its branches. πŸ™‚ Damn, I need more of my marker pens, they look so great here!!

At the very top of this piece I’ve written the following words:

Tomorrow is a new day. Every moment is a new opportunity. You are not alone. I have support, I have potential, I can overcome this stormy sky, I can make it through this. Get rid of what I can and accept the things I can’t, and move forward. I know have what I need to recover”

It’s still important and makes me smile when I see that I crossed out “knowing” and stated that I HAVE what I need to recover. That power and potential is already within me, I just have to learn to access it and let it brighten my way through the storm. πŸ™‚ Having hope in yourself and your Recovery journey is HUGE, even though you won’t always feel hopeful, I encourage you to find something to hold onto in your life.

I’ve known friends who want to publish a book in their future, so they hold onto life for that possibility, because if they die by suicide before then, they’ll never get that chance to write their book.

I’ve known friends who hold onto their family, not wanting them to hurt after their own suicide, so they stay alive for them.

I know that it matters more to stay alive for your own SELF than for others, because sometimes it can mean the difference between a relapse and a lapse.

I know for me, that I held onto the possibility of life getting better. I held on when I didn’t know what I was holding onto. It didn’t really make sense to me, but I tried holding on anyways. I held onto my life having a brighter future, I held onto the possibility of Recovery, I held onto living life again, I held onto freedom, I held onto being okay.

And now, when I struggle, I tell myself that I’ll go inpatient if I need to. And then I get through that crisis or moment of stress, and don’t need to go inpatient any longer. And so I make the same goal, that after this stress I’ll go inpatient, and again, the stress will pass and inpatient is not where I wind up going. I’ve been telling myself this since April 2016.

Now, when I struggle, I think of my #RecoveryHome. I think of the streets in the village, the stationary room I’d have, the structure of the home, the other houses and streets that reside in that small town, what the landscape may be like, the lighthouse on the property. I make scrapbook pages and art and hang out with friends to keep me busy. I tell myself I’ll go to the partial at the OCD-I and hold onto the hope that it will come, and if not, at least hold onto the idea of it.

Now, when I struggle I remind myself of the story I have left to tell. I know that my story matters so much more if I’m still around to tell it. And there are things I haven’t yet told that I want to be able to live for to tell. I also use the anger motivation that if I were to die by suicide, it’s likely that no one would call it what it was–a suicide. So I have to stay alive because we HAVE to get talking about suicide and mental health and illness, because LIVES are on the line, and those lives MATTER. And if it’s up to some of us who’ve been through that experience to open up and talk about it, to encourage others to seek treatment, get help and to live another day–than I think that’s an utter HONOR and I will happily put myself out there in the crossfire just to raise awareness–because this issue is LARGER than I am and any way I can be of help MATTERS.

There’s no doubt (other than a 1% for uncertainty’s sake) in my mind that I have what it takes to recover. That you have what it takes to Recover. That doesn’t necessarily mean we will all recover. I believe that we can’t save everyone, yet it means for those that we can help to save themselves, that they can lead lives that are so impactful to other people struggling that it is SOOO worth the effort of trying to begin with.

I’d also like to share with you a song that I was listening to this morning:

Some of the ones that stick out the most in what I was just saying are:

“Everybody’s got a reason to cry / And everybody fights but not everyone survives / And everybody’s searching not everybody finds / And I’m still in Recovery, help me make it out ALIVE”

I also used some of these inspiring lyrics in a acrylic painting before:

IMG_1064 Upd

This piece is the group icon on DA for the Recovery to Wellness group, which is the name that inspired this blog, too. ❀

Remember, that Recovery IS possible. Find what you need to hold onto, and don’t let it go. Your life matters and you are worthy of receiving help. ❀ ❀ ❀ You are a SURVIVOR. Keep on trekking and keep on staying alive.

IMG_00002557

Keep on Smiling! ❀

(I could go on more of a tangent, but this is a good place to end for now ;))

I hope you enjoyed this teachable moment!!!

8 thoughts on “Teachable Moment #3 | Art Therapy Series

  1. Fantastic and FABULOUS post my love πŸ™ŒπŸ’œπŸ’–πŸ’™πŸ˜‰πŸ’ͺ This has made me so happy reading it! You’re a inspirational sunbeam to me and I know you will be to lots of people in your very bright future *dazzling* πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

