The Entertainer Award

This post is brought to you by:

entertainer-blogger-award

By which I was nominated by the oh so lovely and wonderful and very interesting and awesome blogger: Mental Health Land

So without further adoooo, let’s jump on in! OR we can hop scotch our way in! LEGASP

The Rules:

  • Write a post with the award picture.
  • Nominate 12 other bloggers who are funny, inspiring, and, most important of all, ENTERTAINING!
  • Thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog!
  • Also, answer the 5 questions.

-x-

When I think about entertainment, it encompasses a range of implications…

…. Did I laugh?

…. Did I cry?

…. Did I learn? >> I actually hadn’t ever considered learning to be in the category of entertainment before now, but it does make sense to me. This little bit encourages me more too, as I use a lot of Youtube to learn stuff! Just my little 5 cents! 🙂

The following people have made me do one of those three things. I’m sure they’d do the same for you as well.

-x-

  1. Why did you start a blog in the first place? 

Oh, me and this question, we go WAY back!! XD I started a blog in the first place because I was angrily searching for jobs and couldn’t find any to my taste (AKA within the mental health field that’s non-degree), so then I started looking for writing jobs and I did stumble upon one website that offered an outlet, but the application process was rather long and I hadn’t any experience in blogging so I angrily came to WordPress and spontaneously made an account. That’s how it really happened, although the name I used for this blog is from an art group I made on DA where the mission for that is the same for this blog: to spread awareness about mental health issues and, maybe more importantly, spread the positive word about Recovery and striving for wellness and getting better and living and loving life, despite the bullshit it throws our way.

I hope to be of helpful service-ness through this blog, by sharing and opening up about my own mental health struggles and what I’ve come to learn through my time in treatment. I’d like to think to myself that I’m already making an impact, which is super awesome and honorable. I can’t wait to see how much farther we can all go!! 🙂

2. What is your favorite book?

Oooo, um, well I really loved “A Pleasure and A Calling” by Phil Hogan. I also enjoy reading “Kitchen Table Wisdom” by Rachel Naomi Remen. I used to love the Animorphs and Avalon and Goosebumps books from waaayyyy back in the day!! I also loved ‘You Came Back’ by Christopher Coake. And I like the Life As We Knew It series by Susan Beth Pfeffer. So yeah. Oh, and Fuck Feelings by Michael & Sarah Bennett. 😀

3. What do you dislike the most? 

As my fellow mental health blogger stated, I’d say terminology/word choice and mental health. I absolutely cringe at the terms ‘crazy’ ‘insane’ ‘committed’ suicide or maybe the worst “successful” suicide. Ooof. I also cringe at “my” X (whatever illness that may be). I just tend to correct people in my head and sometimes aloud. I do understand that words mean different things to each people but unfortunately in the media and entertainment terms like ‘crazy’ and misconceptions about suicide are flung around without the ignorant fool realizing what they’re doing. Oh boy, does it make me mad!

4. What is your favorite food item from the mall?

I’m a sucker for sweets, so like smoothies or ice cream or froyo. I’m a sucker and a goner for ’em!

5. What is your favorite pastime activity? 

Oh boy! Art in all of its many branches, for sure. As well as relaxing to some Youtube videos, listening to music, blogging and reading. 🙂

 

For nominees, 12 is a LOT and I’m feeling some levels of my laziness. And I can’t quite recall who is and who isn’t an award free blog, but I’d recommend any of my fellow mental health peeps out there as well as any fun stranger who happens across this and is interested in taking part!! 🙂

 

That’s all for this post!! I’m likely going to have up another quick post after this one 🙂

Stay safe, peeps!

 

Leave a Reply

