Public vs Private: How Open to be Online?

This is a question I’ve been considering more and more these days. One of my favorite pop tarts ran into some trouble with publicity and privacy and now I find myself questioning some of the same things.

Mainly, my birthday is coming up relatively soon and I’m not sure whether I should release that information of when my birthday is to you all on here. Especially for the rest of you that exist BEYOND where this blog reaches WordPress users.

I’m leaning more towards just blogging about my birthday without mentioning exactly WHEN that day is, maybe to some of my closer blogger friends I’ll mention it, but not to the whole LOAD of you out there. Don’t take offense, though. It’s just a matter of personal safety.

For instance, maybe shouldn’t have my first and last name online. Ah well. You don’t know my middle name though! NO ONE DOES BUAHAHA Not online technically speaking at least.

I mention what state I’m in, where I go to school, often to places sometimes that I’ve been or will be at, I have my name out there and photos of myself….it feels okay and right for right now for me to keep when my birthday really is more to myself than to you all. I’ve had it up before on my DA account and even though it looks REALLY weird without it there, I’ve taken it off for now.

Maybe things will change in the future but for right now, I’m weary (wary?) and unsure.

I also think I will keep my Mom and Dad and other siblings under my tongue for now, too. I.e not posting pictures of them, at least my parents, my brother’s already out there in the world too. Lmao

So yeah, I think that is what I’ll do. I’ll post about my birthday when it comes but I won’t mention explicitly when it is or anything. I notice I haven’t spoken publicly about my age yet on here anyways, which is just by chance. (let’s not calculate the alpha % of that right now, shall we?)

I don’t know, what do you guys think? I’d love to hear your thoughts and where you stand on the topic about what is too much information sharing and all that jazz.

For now, I’m going to cover up my tracks. If I change my mind in the future, well, I change my mind. Thank you for being understanding and listening. ❤ ❤ ❤

9 thoughts on “Public vs Private: How Open to be Online?

  1. Yes ofcourse, I completely agree, it’s very scary to give out your information. That’s why I like such anonymity. The only question is, why are you afraid of sharing your birthday? I don’t understand that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it can be! :S

      The way I think of it, I already have my first and last name on here, where I go to school and what state I live in, so I feel if I mention when my birthday is people could figure out the ballpark range of the year and then that’d be additionally known information about me. I don’t know, I’m just not yet comfortable with that. Even though I totally had it up on my DA account lol, it’s along the same idea as keeping friends with pseudonyms and having my Mom and Dad just be known as that and not sharing photos of them from now on. It’s one thing to be public about certain information, but others may not want to be, and I can totally understand that too since I was like that for a LONG time. Who knows, maybe I’ll change my mind in the future!

      Hope that all makes sense. ^^’ Kinda in a chatty mood again XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh! That makes sense now. I totally get it. It’s fun to share small tid bits of information about yourself otherwise how will you meet and learn about new people. The only thing is to always keep a track of what you are sharing so that you are always in control of everything.
        Haha, I love chatting too. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

        • Very true! I likely should keep track of it better, although sometimes I’ll mention a general place I was in after it happens so that’s marginally okay, I guess? :/ Ah well, I kind of look at it like, what are you gonna do, you know? If someone is really that intent on finding more out about me, there’s already been a trail for years ^^’ Maybe it’s the price to pay for being on the Interwebs. I’ll just try not to piss anyone off, that’s my motto! 🙂

          Chatting can be the best! 😀

          Like

  2. I’m paranoid about anonymity. The farthest I will go on my blog is that I live in the US… I think I told one person the state, but definitely not the city. I will not name anyone (or places) (except with a pseudonym) and I’ve considered the birthday issue as well – decided I might give away the month but definitely not the day. I won’t post about it until the month after it happens. I do have my age but I don’t think that gives too much away, maybe I’m wrong though. Definitely no names or pictures – it’s not that I don’t trust my lovely followers, it’s that I don’t trust the rest of the Internet and due to the sensitive nature of the blog, I want it to be very hard to connect to me personally. It’s a really personal choice though so whatever you think is best 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

