Not Maybe, But Definitely

Daily Prompt = Maybe

The world has gone on long enough

Treating the mentally ill awful and rough.

From mocking our symptoms

To dismissing us as self-proclaimed victims.

We huddle in our corners

Isolated and grieving like mourners.

Cut off from the world

Our damaged souls frayed and furled.

We want to come out

And shout all about

“Look at me! Look at me!

I exist, don’t you see?”

Why do you choose

To turn your back on us like we are an unlit fuse?

“Can’t you see? Can’t you see?

All that you are doing to me?”

Your eyes are glued to the skies

The clouds not parting, muffling our cries.

“How can’t you hear me? How do you not care?”

“No!” You snap back. “I do care–I just cannot bear–“

“Bear what?” We reply. “This is our burden to carry.”

“Maybe,” you mutter, “but it is too often scary.”

“It is scary because you do not understand!

The light that scatters through us, falling like sand!”

“And how am I to know,

If you are strong enough or to fall like snow?”

“Because we are mighty and strong!

We sing our beautiful survivor song!”

“A song you sing? What is this you speak of?”

“Listen well, and you will see our love–

We sing of courage, of strength and light,

We sing long into the prowess of night!

We are human and we feel

That our experiences are very real.

We may cry, we may linger

We may stumble along like a make believe figure.

But we are tough–in body and in mind

And we will stand no longer for you to be unkind.

We demand our powerhouse to be seen.

Our voices linger and they are not keen

On being silenced and hidden for any longer

Maybe this is something you should ponder

We are ill in mind

And while you may be blind,

It does not make us broken,

Rather allows us to be spoken–

That we are not alone

And that we shall be known

As gladiators. As warriors. As fighters.

Some of us may even be writers.

We are strangers no more,

Doctors, artists, professionals galore!

We have degrees,

This we shall decree!

We are just like you,

Similar, but with a different view.”

“I–I see,” you stammer “there is more of you than just one.”

“Why, but of course, my friend. Why ever would there be none?”

“I…still do not completely understand what it is you see

How you can live this life and just be.”

“It is through time

And much patience that we develop our climb

Yet it is worthwhile for us to find our hope,

To believe in a better tomorrow and positively cope.

Our journeys may be chaotic,

But to some of us, we smile and say ‘exotic’.

And with resiliency we manage to live,

With meaning and purpose we choose to give

To those in our community who still struggle

And for those of you who have yet to juggle

What it is like to be sick,

With no choice allowed to pick

What it is that inflicts us,

So thus,

We ask to be shown patience in kind,

For us to learn and find

What it means to be happy to be alive,

For we may always strive

To live a life worth living,

For you to be forgiving,

And for us to be proud,

That we’ve been allowed,

To bring life to another day

Where eventually we are okay.

30 thoughts on “Not Maybe, But Definitely

  1. Hi Recovery Raquel,

    I saw you tweeting about wordpress and I thought I’d check out your website. I really like it. Looks like Recovery Raquel has come a long way!

    I have a plugin that can help speed up and optimize your wordpress site. You can check it out at here

    Like

    • Hey there, Chris! Awesome to have you here πŸ™‚ And yeah, we sure have! It’s only been a year and I think I’m doing a pretty good job! Hehe.

      I checked out the plugin, although I don’t think I’ll be using it, sorry! Thanks for stopping by and commenting though!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Fantastic poem and so relatable to those who have struggled with mental illness. Thanks so much for writing, as many of the quotes in this poem (from the POV of the ill speaker) are thoughts I’ve reflected on before.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much!! ❀ ❀ ❀

      It was a really fun and awesome poem to write, and I hadn't thought it would take on the characters that it did when I first started it but it was super fascinating to see it grow and change. I look forward to more creative writing about mental health awareness, too! πŸ™‚

      ❀ ❀ xxxx

      Liked by 2 people

      • It’s awesome that you enjoy unraveling truths about mental health, as most people struggle to discuss it with feeling embarrassed. I look forward to reading more of your poems

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you! Yeah, I’m working on being an influence within the community both online and off about making mental health something that we talk more about and don’t feel we have to hide from or feel ashamed about. :3 It’s going wonderfully so far! ^^’

          Awesome! I don’t know how /often/ they’ll come but maybe that’s a part of the allure πŸ˜‰

          Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

