8. Recovery A-Z Challenge: C is for Calm. #blog4MH

B is for Bravery

C is for calm.

In this post, I’d like to discuss what calmness is to me and provide videos of things I find calming and often are sleep provoking for me, in the hopes that my sharing will help to inspire you readers or lead you to find something that inspires you. I may even talk about sensory rooms in this post too. This will be a longer post I’m imagining so I’ll have to finish it into the evening –legasp! (or, as it turns out, the next day)

First, I’d like to describe the concept of sensory rooms. 🙂 As far as I know, which likely isn’t all that far, sensory rooms are places where if you’re having trouble with your mental health, you can go to them to help you self-soothe, rather than turning to a maladaptive behavior. Sensory rooms can often be found in the hospital setting, but one day I’d like to incorporate them into my own future home (as well as possibly into my current home when my parents and I redo a room). In my last hospitalization I wrote down the components of a sensory room so that I could have a resource to look back on later. Here’s what I listed out:

Essentials for a Sensory Room

  • Warm blanket (one of my ambulance ones (I have many) and a snugly one)
  • Warm room (heater)
  • A nature art piece
  • Wall decals!! (They sell some at Target and I’m sure online, I’ll link to some faves of mine down below)
  • A comfy chair (ex: a bean bag)
  • A stuffed animal
  • Art supplies
  • A good book
  • Ambient sounds
  • Christmas lights
  • Electric/candles
  • Color
  • Stickers
  • Stationery
  • Slime
  • Stress balls (I have a spiky purple one that I love since it reminds me of slime)
  • Slippers
  • Recovery Restoration
  • A Workbook
  • Daily prompt
  • A journal
  • A gratitude journal (I also found out how to make a little paper gratitude book, I’ll share that with you guys in the future! :))
  • Gel pens
  • Coloring books/pages

So, for the wall decals, this is a MUST! I freakin’ love wall decals. The ones in the sensory room at the hospital included flying birds, flowers, a tree and more. They were so lovely. The art piece was a photograph of a spread of yellow blooming trees with their reflection eased out onto the water. Just lovely!!

Wall decals that I have my eye on:

Feathers from Target , Cherry blossom , Be awesome, be You , Birch tree , and more! 🙂


One of the things I listed were ambient sounds. For me, these videos surmise some of what I like:

The thunder sounds I’ve recently gotten into this year. Rain sounds are lovely too, but now I find thunder to be comforting. Maybe it’s the whole Thunder god reference 😉 I just find it very soothing nowadays. I have a little sound machine and it comes with the thunder noise and I just love it. It doesn’t always work to put me to sleep so sometimes I have to use videos like these, and other times a story being told will help etc. More on this later.

Gotta mention this, too! Hehe!

 

For ASMR I recommend Heather Feather, WhispersRED, Soundspace, Made in France, etc.

 

Additionally, for slime videos I recommend:

Cryb4by, MostSatisfying, Aesthetic Satisfaction and Satisfying Slime ASMR

Here are a few of my fave videos (of slime):

 

And lastly, scary story time videos!!! For this section I recommend:

Darkness Prevails, Let’s Read, Corpse Husband, MrNightmare, CreepsMcPasta, and Lazy Masquerade. 🙂

That’s all I got! This post took some finding and some loading time so I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂

Onto le next post!

Leave a Reply

