11. I Don’t have to Fight Alone – SADIM Day #5 #blog4MH

Welcome to day #5 of SADIM! If you’d like to see other posts about SADIM, check out the category folder I’ve made for it all the way at the bottom of my blog! Thanks everyone! šŸ™‚

Song Choice:

On My Own by Ashes Remain

Video:

Chosen lyrics:

There’s gotta be another way out
I’ve been stuck in a cage with my doubt
I’ve tried forever getting out on my own.

Bring me out
Come and find me in the dark now
Everyday by myself I’m breaking down
I don’t wanna fight alone anymore
Bring me out
From the prison of my own pride
My God,
I need a hope I can’t deny
In the end I’m realizing I was never meant to fight on my own.

I don’t wanna be incomplete
I remember what you said to me
I don’t have to fight alone

Relation to these lyrics:

Another band I recently found this week, this is the first song I heard by them and from what I can gather, they’re a slightly religious band. I say slightly because the next song has some religious undertones but I don’t find it so prominent that it’s obvious, for me I’m able to just ignore it. Any who though, I liked the aesthetic of this lyric video (album art and the video art itself helps me to decide whether I’ll be interested in the song) and I liked the message behind it as well. It reminds me that in this battle of mental health we are not on our own, and we are not alone. It reminds me that I’m not just one individual going through this, that the people around me are going through it too. So that’s cool.

And I like the idea that there’s hope involved in this piece, too. šŸ™‚

Honorable Mention:

Here for a Reason by Ashes Remain

Video:

Chosen lyrics:

“You’re not forgotten
You’re not alone
You think you’re worthless, but you’re worth it

Every time that you wake up breathing
Every night when you close your eyes
Every day that your heart keeps beating
There’s purpose for your life
So don’t give up
Don’t lay down
Just hold on
Don’t quit now
Every breath that you take has meaning
You are here for a reason

Relation to these lyrics:

I listened to this song recently when I was dealing with some difficult times with the doggo situation, and it really helped to calm me down and keep things into perspective. It helped me a lot to problem solve, so I had to mention it here, too, of course. šŸ™‚

Again, slight undertones of religion within the song itself but I just ignore it. You could think of it as the universe being personified too, if that helps you.

There’s also this song that I just like:

There’s a couple of other songs by them that I’m still dipping my toes into, but for now, these are the main two I want to promote! šŸ™‚

And of course, the emoticon:

šŸ’®šŸ’®šŸ’® = flowers!

 

Leave a Reply

