14. No, I’m 100% a Human Being – #Blog4MH

What’s wrong with this picture?

100 OCD

Ah, that’s right, it claims as a “quiz” to pinpoint whether the participant can tell the differences between various shapes and which one is the odd on out. It’s meant to determine one’s “OCD Radar”.

Let’s back up.

There’s about three things wrong with that assumption.

  1. Does an OCD Radar even actually exist? Is this meant to be a lighthearted fun “quiz”? Am I missing something? Because it looks like another disappointment of the human race to me. It looks like another joke at the expense of people’s suffering-at MY suffering. Am I supposed to laugh? Because the ONLY thing this “quiz” does is perpetuate the stigma regarding mental health.
  2. If you want to raise awareness by some “quiz” that’s not even diagnostic-nor could it ever be-why not include some information and tips for dealing with OCD? Why not link a suicide hotline? Why not provide information to the International OCD Foundation? The UK OCD foundation? Why not that?
  3. I am NOT 100% “OCD” I AM NOT a diagnosis. I am MYSELF. I am an artist, I am a friend, I am a daughter, I am a lover of gazebos and nature and dogs and cats and the universe, and music, and the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I like fanfiction, I like creative writing, I am a blogger, I am a Youtuber. I am Raquel. I am NOT the OCD. Don’t you ever dare to suggest otherwise, because you will be wrong.

 

Instead, I’ll do what you failed to do: Source of Our Pain

I’ll talk about mental health–mine, yours, everybody’s. I’ll provide links and resources here. I’ll remind all of you out there, that you are not alone. That I know OCD is a real big asshole, and we all just need to stand up to it and tell it to FUCK OFF. Because it doesn’t get to steal our lives. It doesn’t get to win. Not us. Not our souls. Not us human beings. We are always ourselves first, any diagnosis comes secondary. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

International OCD Foundation , OCD UK

You can find more information about OCD in these articles: Understanding OCD

Finding Help for OCD 1 , About OCD , For Families dealing with OCD

There are also Youtubers you can find who discuss their recovery journeys from OCD, as well as general mental health Youtubers.

There are blogs you can also find, mine being one of them.

There are also support groups online/offline.

You are not alone. Your pain is real. OCD is real. I know that, you know that, it’s on us to educate as many other people willing to listen, too.

Suicide Prevention Hotline (USA): 1800 273 TALK (8255)

USA Call 2 Talk (MA) 877 211 6277

Samaritans (USA) 877 870 4673

Worldwide hotline numbers: Resource 2

imalive.org

Crisis chat/text lines (from NSPL and others can be found through Google)

Check out more of my blog posts regarding mental health and suicide NOT being jokes: Part 1 and Part 2 can be found as a pingback in the comments there.

I’m anxious this will get some backlash, not from our WordPress community but for what I said about it on Twitter before I could work on this post. Oh well. It’s too important to not talk about.

And if you’re new here–maybe from Twitter–I’m personally invested in this issue. I live with OCD and no, it’s not organizational or cleaning, or based on fucking shape’s distances. I suffer. I exist. I am human, first and foremost. I have goals, dreams, ideas, family, friends. People care about me. I care about me. And I refuse to be silent.

Fuck the silence.

I am a survivor radiating badassery. And I will not put up with this bullshit. Not on my watch.

 

Thank you. ❤ ❤ ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

