You Don’t Gotta Die Today | SADIJ3 Day #12

Yes, I am reviving and continuing this series, the song a day challenge mental health edition. I did not get to complete May’s month of mental health challenges but I won’t let that stop me from continuing it now into the rest of the years. So this is song a day in July (hence the 3) day #12, continuing from where I left off. Anticipate continued series like the recovery A-Z challenge either this month or in August and August’s festivities for #WWRRM. πŸ™‚


Chosen song:

1800 273 8255 by Logic Feat. Alessia Cara & Khalid

Video:

 

Chosen lyrics:

I’ve been on the low
I been taking my time
I feel like I’m out of my mind
It feel like my life ain’t mine….

I want you to be alive
I want you to be alive
You don’t gotta die today
You don’t gotta die
I want you to be alive
I want you to be alive
You don’t gotta die
Now lemme tell you why

[Alessia Cara:]
It’s the very first breath
When your head’s been drowning underwater
And it’s the lightness in the air
When you’re there
Chest to chest with a lover
It’s holding on, though the road’s long
And seeing light in the darkest things
And when you stare at your reflection
Finally knowing who it is
I know that you’ll thank God you did

[Logic:]
I know where you been, where you are, where you goin’
I know you’re the reason I believe in life
What’s the day without a little night?
I’m just tryna shed a little light
It can be hard
It can be so hard
But you gotta live right now
You got everything to give right now….

I finally wanna be alive
I finally wanna be alive
I don’t wanna die today
I don’t wanna die
I finally wanna be alive
I finally wanna be alive
I don’t wanna die
I don’t wanna die

[Khalid:]
Pain don’t hurt the same, I know
The lane I travel feels alone
But I’m moving ’til my legs give out
And I see my tears melt in the snow

Relation:

I heard this song first from an interview that Logic gave about it trending on Twitter. I listened to it and it was moving, but that’s about all I did with it.

While inpatient this time around, I heard it on the radio a few times (once chopped up and the second time in full) and I teared up in response to it again. It really sunk in then and it’s been on my mind since. I keep repeating the end of it, the I don’t wanna die anymore part, in hopes that the more I say it the more true it will become.

For anyone out there struggling right now, I’m there with you. You are not alone. It will get better. Do everything you can to make yourself feel better, even when you don’t want to. It’s not worth it, ending your life, it’s just not worth it. There is no freedom in suicide. Life will get better. If you feel you can’t keep yourself safe, go through your positive coping strategies, call friends/family and a hotline, and go to the ER nearest to you.

Things will change. Life and all of its situations are temporary. Feelings are temporary. This crisis will pass. You will want to be alive again some time in the future. Allow yourself to be there to experience it. ❀

 

Chosen emoticon:

πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“ = Heartbeats

 

4 thoughts on “You Don’t Gotta Die Today | SADIJ3 Day #12

Leave a Reply

