Just Gimme Another Day | SADIA2 Day #17 | #WWRRM

Song a day THUMB

**FEATURED SONG REQUEST FROM KAIDEN**

Chosen song:

Still Alive by Social Distortion

Video:

Chosen Lyrics:

“I was back up on my feet
I was fighting the same old wars
Had to even up the scores
And I’m still alive and I will survive
I can take what life’s got to give
Just need a little time
And I’m still alive, talking that same ol’ jive
I can handle what comes my way
Just gimme another day

And I’m here to make my stand
With a guitar in my hand”

[KAIDEN’S] Relation:

For me, it’s a message of hope. I have been through so much in my life and I’m still here. For a long time I didn’t think I could make it but with the changes of time and the skills I’ve learned through hospitalization and partial program, life hasn’t really changed, but I have. I know I can do this. I can make it, like the song says ‘I can take what life’s got to give just need a little time’ and ‘I can handle what comes my way just gimme another day’. It won’t always be easy but a moment at a time, I can do this. With every day is a new opportunity to make my world a little better of a place. ‘I’m still alive and I will survive’ it gives me so much hope that I have made it this far and I can keep going no matter what, with my efforts in recovery and the support I’m building. ‘I’ve been to hell and back, I ain’t falling off this track.’

[MY] Relation:

This is a new song to me so I haven’t yet formed a connection with it, yet I like the gist of it, the concept behind it, and all that jazz. 🙂 I like that the artist is taking his stand by using the guitar in his hand, I think musicians have more power in their words and musical talents than they may realize. So it’s cool to connect with and hear another band in a host of other bands and music that perpetuates such nice things. 🙂

It reminds me that I’m not alone in what I’m going through and someone else has been there, just as they’ve been there in the past and will be in the future. There’s a common human connection in that that’s appreciated, even if and when it sucks! ^^’

Chosen emoticon: (apparently I forgot to do this last time, whoops!)

🤠🤠🤠 = cowboy hat smiley faces.


PS Yes, you can request songs for me to cover in SADI_ 🙂 There’s also a Twitter page user’s campaign called Project Buddy that is doing a similar mental health related song choice thing, so if there hasn’t been overlap already, there will be in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

